Birds Eye.

I have some sort of uncontrollable craving to take images from above at any opportunity presented to me, it’s such a simple angle that always produces such unique results. Every time I fly back into Wanaka, I love seeing the town from above. It gives me such a new light on a place I have lived for so long. I had a bit of time up my sleeves in the city yesterday and decided to head up the sky tower.

Despite the heavy $28 admission fee it was well worth it. It was amazing being able to see Auckland in 360 degrees. All the hecticness of the motorways and streets seem so far away. I had my SLR on me, so I clicked off a few. I plan to return there with new kit shortly and camp out for a day, so many images to take.


Auckland CBD


Standing on Auckland


Auckland Harbour Bridge and a Fuller Ferry


Devenport and Rangiatoto


The Spaghetti. Shot on a lensbaby.


Man and Woman going opposite ways in a patch of light.


Large trucks look like toys at an intersection


Auckland Parking


Queen/Victoria St and Santa


Fullers ferry and reflections of buildings in the opposite direction.


A tourist taking it in.


TVNZ Broadcasting


Half Reflection, Half Street.


Whilst walking the streets I also experimented with a few ‘zoom blurs’. Achieved by using a slow shutter, and zooming out on a zoom lens whilst releasing the shutter. I played around with this years ago, but have just got fond of them again.


And the old steam boat tied up at Devenport on my trip home.

Leave a Reply

