Breaking in the Canon 5dmkII


Canon 5DMKII, 14mm 2.8, 15mm fish eye 2.8, 50mm 1.4, 24-70mm 2.8 & 70-200 f4. 21 Megs of full frame & prime glass goodness.

Pictured above is the reason that I am now back on the scone diet that allowed me to produce ‘How About It‘ with Chris Arnison. I’ve taken a heavy hit to ensure that the quality of my work increases and to keep up with my clients ever increasing demands. My hands are now slowly getting used to the shape of a canon 5DMKII body and its interface. First impressions are amazing. The body fits very well in my hands, (even the texture of the plastic feels good) the interface seems a lot more simple to operate in comparison with Nikon, full frame is mind blowing with picture quality that would satisfy even the most anal retentive digital photographer.

Alot of people have been asking me why I jumped ship. Basically this camera fits my work almost perfectly, for both photography and video. It uses a full frame sensor ( Highest quality, and allows the the widest view available on DSLRS ) and also records 1080 HD video. Shooting HD video through the lenses that I have bought produces similar results to cameras such as the RED camera, particularly in low light. I will have to build up a few accessories around the camera to make it easier to use in the video field, but it still comes in at a fraction of the price of its competitors. I will be using the 5DMkII in combination with my Panasonic HVX200 to shoot projects such as the 2010 season of Winter of Wells. The only downside is that it lacks a fast frame rate, I will have to invest in another body for this purpose in the future.

I’ve had a little bit of time to bring the camera around with me to take some test shots. I’m still feeling rather clumsy as my hands are not used to the dials! Some serious shoots will go down soon and will most likely be posted on the web. For now here’s some snap shots of its photographic capabilities. The RAW files of these image weigh in at a hefty 21meg, enough to slow down my Macbook!


This is a shot of myself and my father on the 15mm 2.8 fish. My father ( Tim Pierce Senior ) took great pleasure in watching me unpack my new toys. He has taken up photography as a serious hobby in his retirement. You can check out his work here – http://timpierceimages.com/


Tim Pierce senior shot with the 50mm f1.4


Our family dog Tui is always subdued to tests from me with my gear when I’m home. I think he’s used to it by now. These are shot on the 24-70mm f2.8


On Christmas eve I went for a quick drive to test the 14mm 2.8. One of the subjects was the Wanaka Airport runway. This lens is incredible.


Driving home on from the airport on Christmas eve.


Christmas day celebrations. Plenty of alcohol and food was consumed!


Kevin Wini impressed us all with his Christmas spirit. Downing 3 large bottles of Champers, followed by a bottle of rum.


Nate Hodson was on fine form too. Nate has some interesting plans that involve constructing snowboard rails in the future, I’ll blog about this no doubt!


Xmas is a good time to remember friends. RIP Ryno.


I met up with Piers Harding on boxing day to talk geek. Piers has an awesome hut at his parents property, I couldn’t resist a couple of snaps.


Piers Harding


The Remarkables will never get old.


Simple shadows and empty seats.


More shadows. The Queenstown airport staff interrogated me about taking photos, I have never had that in an airport.


Mt Aspiring shrouded by clouds.


Dense bush and the Southern Alps


This kid was a solo traveler and completely encapsulated by his coloring in book.


Mt Cook in all its glory


I think this is the Tasman Glacier


The Tasman Glacier and Mt Cook side by side.

9 responses to “Breaking in the Canon 5dmkII

  1. Nice pics dude. I’m loving that 14Mm. Is that not a dedicated fish, just super wide? Killer. So hard to beat that in you face widenees!

  2. Ahhh you got it! nice dude! Did you get it from BandH in the end??

  3. Thanks Kirk, they’re just quick snaps. Yeah just dedicated super wide. Widest without distortion on a full frame ( Widest canon lens anyway ) Yeah nothing beats up close! Gonna be stoked to use it as an alternative to fish eye in sports.

  4. Nice work tim such crisp shots from you’re new toys bro cant wait for more

  5. Looking sic bro, yummy I want a 14mm that looks sick.

  6. SHIIIET MAN. Awesome photos.

  7. I’m interested to know what is the auto focus like for video work with MTBer’s with the 5D?

Leave a Reply

