Tour of New Zealand Cycle Race


I was recently contracted by Piano Hill to shoot/direct a 22minute tv show / documentary on the Tour Of New Zealand Cycle race. Groups of riders and individuals simultaneously rode the length of the North & South Island over 7 days to meet in Wellington on the last day. It was an incredible week on the road with some very interesting people. There should be a teaser for the show online in the near future which I’ll post up here. Outside of filming I grabbed a few stills along the way.


The tour started in Bluff on a blustery morning, which made for some moody imagery. Pictured is my Nissan Sunny rental which (just) handled the job.


Tim Shadbolt started the race & I couldn’t resist getting a snapshot after I had interviewed him. One entertaining character.


Day 1 finished up deep in Southland at Mossburn.


We had a couple of mornings shooting hand held from an R44 with Wanaka Helicopters. Simon Spencerbower was my pilot and was amazing to work with.


Iconic sheep truck just outside of Tarras


R44 in the Lindis Pass


Simon Spencerbower


I’ll never tire of the Tekapo Canals


Canterbury


De briefs were held daily for riders. Here 150+ riders pack into the Hanmer Heritage


Kaikoura


A lot of exhausted riders after completing 700kms over 7 days


Arriving into Wellington on the Bluebridge.

6 responses to “Tour of New Zealand Cycle Race

  1. wow awesome pic!
    big fan of your work Tim!

  2. Particularly like the landscape splintered by the setting sun… and the very nosey cow :-))

  3. Do you mind telling me what sort of filter you used for the Canterbury shots Tim? They look gorgeous.

  4. Hey Stew. I always shoot ‘flat’ on camera, i.e creating custom picture file and stripping back all the saturation etc. I then use a variety of filters in lightroom. Which particular canterbury shot do you want to know about?

    • I guess I was looking at the straw, power line, and tekapo lake shots in particular. I use the tool myself but don’t venture too much further than whacking the autotune button which correct some of the shortcomings of my photos! So shooting flat means you just have a UV filter or something on the lense? Whenever I read articles about landscape photography most seem to stress the importance of a polarizing filter of some sort.

      PS I live in London, and your photos make me miss home a lot 🙂

  5. I’ve used a variety of filters in light room for that, plus a bit of tweaking. By shooting flat, I’m not using any sort of filter on the front of the lens, I’m creating a custom picture profile in the camera, so that I have the most detail in my image.

Leave a Reply

